Exercising when sick/injured : A good move?

12 Mar

sick 1

I’ve had to grapple (yes, grapple!) with this question a few times in the past two years. If sick or injured, should I rest?

Honestly, once I was in an exercise groove, I had to be talked into taking a break, because I didn’t want to lose momentum. But I’m so glad I listened.

Let’s tackle feeling sick first.  If you are feeling under the weather, sometimes working out will do more harm than good.

Are your symptoms above your neck?  Think sneezing, runny nose, scratchy throat.

If yes, then its probably a common cold which means its ok to go ahead and work out.  It could actually help you recover faster.  I find though that when I feel this way, I don’t go overboard on cardio/weights, but rather do moderate exercises like walking.  You will actually feel much better! Dose up on vitamin C (I use Vital Maxi C tabbies).

Are your symptoms below the neck?  Think hacking cough, chest congestion, muscles aches, chills, upset stomach.

If you feel any of these symptoms, its best to take some time off from working out. You can’t sweat your way back to health. You will most definitely do more harm than good if you have this type of infection. You will prolong the illness or make it worse, making your rest period even longer. Trust me! I was out for 2 weeks because of being stubborn and not being willing to take 2-3 rest days.

Injuries.  They do happen now and again. I myself struggle with sensitive knees, even ending up at the doctor because shooting pains while working out didn’t deter me from continuing. Before injuring yourself even worse, rather take a few days off to rest and recuperate.  I tend to do a modified exercise when I know its going to be taxing on  my knees.

You won’t lose momentum and your body won’t suffer when you take a break.

Because we need to focus more on nutrition than exercise, remember to BE ON POINT WITH YOUR DIET WHEN SICK.

Exercising can never catch up with a bad diet!!

Dont-quit-poster

2 Responses to “Exercising when sick/injured : A good move?”

  1. Bro March 12, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Great Advice Nats!!! Keep up the good work

  2. nataliegermishuys March 15, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    Thank you angel xx

Leave a Reply

